Daily Outfit: Job Interview Chic

11 09 2011

I promised a few posts ago that I would talk a bit more about what’s happening with me.  As I mentioned in other posts, I was working with a start-up charity but due to the recession, growing pains of a new company and new managers, I left my job.  The departure wasn’t exactly amicable, but I am much happier than I was working there.  I am currently unemployed, which means I am having to be a lot more careful with my spending and thrifty with my fashion.  Call me a recessionista, because I am still rocking the hell out of life on a budget.  It has been a roller coaster of emotions, and some days, having a life without structure really gets me down, but I am trying to spend lots of time working on creative projects and seeing friends and having fun.  Life really should not be about the job you do or don’t have, and I keep reminding myself that.

I am starting lots of new projects that I will be slowly posting about as they come up.  But for now, I am going to be a bit more dedicated about taking photos of what I wear.  I hope this serves as inspiration for me to mix up my looks and dress better daily, as I often get stuck in fashion ruts.  I don’t consider myself the most trendy person, but when I put my mind to it, I can look stylish.  More than that, I am interested in fashion- the photos, the styling, the clothes, the textiles, etc.

Last week, I went to the government employment agency to talk about job options.  Of course, it was a scorching hot afternoon and I jumped right out of my outfit when I got home before I could bully someone into taking photos of me.  So here are the elements of my outfit.  I know that’s cheating, but I am still working up the nerve to ask people to take my photograph and my self-timer skills are abysmal.  So this is what you get.  Next time will be better, I promise!

Thrifted H&M Dress, Marks & Spencer Heels, New Look Bracelet.

 

I loved this outfit because it was simple, classic and undistracting.  The worst thing in an interview is when your clothes are telling more of a story than your resume.  My interviewer noted that I looked professional, and we came up with a few options for me in search of employment.  The classic H&M shift dress, however, was way too hot for the scorching afternoon so I ditched it soon after I departed the air conditioned sanctuary of the office.  How do you keep cool while looking professional?

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 09 2011
Angela Osborn

These pieces look very chic and professional, I’m sure you looked great! When I was working in an office I always found it hard to find clothes that looked professional but were still cool outside of the air conditioned office. Unfortunately corporate dresses are often made from synthetic fabrics and are lined which makes you feel sweaty and stickier. Try to find clothes made from natural fibres such as cotton (and maybe unlined dresses, as long as they still look professional). Linen is lovely to wear in hot weather, but it creases really badly so look for linen that has been blended with other fibres, such as cotton, and it shouldn’t crease quite as much. Hope this helps! 🙂

12 09 2011
Carly

Awesome tips Angela, thank you! I was planning on wearing a linen dress but it was cream-coloured and didn’t want to make any post-labour day fashion mistakes (just in case my interviewer cared). I’d love to get a job with a relaxed dress code so that I can inject some personality into what I wear. Guess we’ll see how it all turns out :)!

Leave a Reply

