DIY Inspiration: Shoes

9 09 2011

It is hardly a shock that a 23 year old woman loves shoes.  While I live in flip flops during the sweaty island summer days, I love a great blinged-out sandal, a flashy pump, a suede platform heel and even a sweet ballet flat.  I can’t get enough.  And while I do have quite a shoe collection (my dad often asks if I actually wear them all), I also find myself craving more!  Since I am trying to be recessionista-chic, my best option is DIY!  There are quite a few awesome thrift stores locally that I grab amazing shoes at, but I am trying to be a bit more open minded about the ones I see there that may have as-yet undiscovered potential.  Here is a roundup of a few awesome projects I’ve found across the web!Painted Soles
1.  Craftster Lace Patterned Wedges: These absolutely magical wedges are from Craftster user petite_patineuse and are hand-detailed with gold and silver markers.  I wish I had the skill or the patience, but the results are beautiful.  Check them out in full-detail with instructions.
2.  Dirty Hems Neon Sole Heels: This simple DIY elevates a simple black shoe into something fun, on-trend and a little bit daring.  She’s taken lots of great pictures to help show you how to take your black heels from “meh” to “meow!”

Glitter
1.  Craftster Red Dorothy Glitter Heels: Another pair that I spotted on Craftster, this time by user kellianneeee.  She takes a pair of classic peep-toes and updates them first with red glitter and then a cheeky yellow brick road painted on the bottom.  A riff on the classic red-soles of Christian Louboutin’s, but the end result is playful and fun.  She also has an etsy page, where you can custom-order glittered out shoes if you’re low on time and want her pristine results.
2.  Honestly WTF DIY Miu Miu Sneakers: I’m not normally a sneaker girl, but the original Miu Miu’s are to die for.  Style mavens from Honestly WTF must think the same thing, because they made their own awesome version.  I’m literally biding my time until I find a pair of appropriate shoes to bling out.

Make them your own
1.  A Matter of Style’s DIY Stella MCCartney and Zara asymmetric shoes: While painting, glittering and bedazzling shoes may seem like elementary DIY, A Matter of Style took it to a new level by cutting into her pumps to create a new sexy silhouette for her heel.  I have a shoe I could do this to, but I am terrified of ruining them completely.
2.  …love Maegan’s Christian Louboutin Petal Sandal DIY: A gorgeous, floaty and completely removable sandal adornment.  While this DIY came out in 2009, the style is still very fun and replicates styles still in stores today.  Me likey!

Sitting with a very random grouping of books, my Oasis tribute solo shoe.

I wish I could say I had a great history of shoe DIY’s, but actually it’s a bit embarrassingly abysmal.  Years ago, I bought cheapie white slip-on canvas shoes and tried to graffiti with Sharpies to create a punky, urban look but they ended up looking like… well…. I had tried writing on my sneaker with marker.  Those went into the trash.

Next up, I scored these awesome white pointy-toed pumps in a thrift store and covered a heel with Oasis lyrics.  It looked awesome, but I was terrified to wear them and had no way of sealing them.  I moved as I was in the middle of the project and managed to lose one of the shoes.  The other sits on my shelf as a bit of temporary art.

 

When I pulled them out to take a picture, the camera stopped working properly. The shoe mocks me, yet again.

The final shoe DIY I’ve done was more of a success.  I wanted to replicate the Jeffrey Campbell shoes that half of the blogosphere had taken on with thumbtacks.  I found the perfect shoes for the project, but ran out of the style of tacks I was using.  The shoes got finished with different tacks, but the finished product isn’t as clean as I’d have preferred.  I wore them once on Halloween as Lady Gaga and now they sit on my shoe shelf, mocking me.  I have been tempted to take the tacks out and re-do them with all the same type, but I haven’t found the time yet.

But I am feeling that creative itch and I know shoes are what I want to focus on so hopefully this inspiration kicks my butt into gear and gets me going on some DIY!

Actions

Information

One response

9 09 2011
H. E. Lexus

Cool heels… 😉

Leave a Reply

