On Moms

27 12 2009

Hilary Duff

My mom is rad.  I feel I’m so much like her.  I don’t know if it’s wrong to drop an F-bomb in the same sentence as your mother, but I’m so fucking lucky to have my mom.  She’s just taught me so much and given me so much, and she has such an open heart.”   Hilary Duff in Nylon Magazine December 2009.

I kind of love Hilary Duff, she is awesome on Gossip Girl.  But more than that, I love that in an interview situation where she could prattle on mindlessly about clothes and men and the stresses of her career, she chooses to praise her mother.  And not only that, she talks about her mom being her friend.  So many people thank their parents as an obligation, as if the words don’t mean much.  Or so that it keeps their parents out of their hair.  A lot of people have a love-hate relationship with their parents.  But mine is all love.

You see, my mom is fucking awesome.  I know it, my friends know it, the people she encounters know it, my co-workers knew it, everyone knows it.  In many ways, she is the quintessential “mom” type.  Very caring, nurturing and kind- my lifelong coach and cheerleader with something positive to say about any situation.  She is always taking care of people, baking cakes and banana breads to give away and generally making sure the people in her life are happy.  But in a lot of ways, she is more friend than overbearing mother figure.  I can honestly talk to her about anything and it would be fine.

When I was younger, I hated when people told me I looked just like her and I used to fire back that I had no wrinkles.  But as an adult, I couldn’t be happier to look like such a wonderful person… and hopefully my skincare regimen postpones the inevitable wrinkling.  Every day I hope to become a bit more like her, because she is my best friend.

[Photo and Quote via Nylon Magazine]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

